04/21/2014 – There is Holiness in the Air Today

I took an early retirement in 2012. Best thing I ever did. Not enough money (after all those years!) but the health insurance is great. Since then, I’ve been looking for my next career. I’ve been doing some editing – faculty journal articles, dissertations, etc., but that seems to have dried up. Or I’m not pursuing it correctly. I’ve done some writing, but just can’t seem to get any momentum. I’ve applied for jobs to no avail. I know God (or the Universe, or Allah, or Higher Power – whatever works) has something wonderful in store for me. Something I recently saw – When you are down and out, God is up to something. So, I quit working at it and now I’m trying to be quiet and just listen. This may be working (I’m not ready to trust it just yet), First came the affirmations, then the personal trainer, then the idea to write about this journey. I’m not writing to create a business, or inform anyone. I’m just being me for all the world to see. And, poof, I have three followers. How cool is that!

Today, I start an online writing class through Coursera. It’s taught by a Duke faculty member! I’m so looking forward to it. One of my next career options is to write creative non-fiction. That’s what this blog is, on a very low level. That’s what Jonathon Katz does when he is writing about his dogs. That’s what Thomas Friedman does in his books on global warming and global economies. I have my work cut out for me, but the course is designed to promote research backed writing. I won’t be trying out much of my material here since publishers want unpublished articles and books.

Time to hit the gym. I haven’t  lost any weight yet, but  I am following the program. More will be revealed…

Leave a Reply

